Fiddlers Green

Downloadable Fun!
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:28 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post subject: Hello Pals! Introduction
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 10:12 am 
FG Cutter

Just wanted to pop in and introduce myself. I'm a new paper modeler who just joined the forums and got a trial Magic Key to check this all out.

To be honest, I found Fiddlers Green several years ago and printed off the Piper Cub and Gee Bee models but I left them neglected in a file cabinet until now! :(

I got a hankering recently to try modeling again and purchased a couple of plastic kits like I did from my youth. They went together ok, but I'm a freaky OCD perfectionist who is also a tight-wad :P I'd had airbrushed them with craft acrylics and Future with good, but less than stellar results. Out of frustration, I decided to take a break and put together a fun little "Haunted Skool" paper model from another website and had so much fun doing it, that I'm a convert to paper modeling now!
After the "Skool" I went straight to the file cabinet for my FG Piper Cub and had a great time building that with the clear packing tape tips for the windows and canopy. It was much more of a challenge than I anticipated, but I'm happy with the results for a first model and look forward to a lot more. My goal is to complete an entire WWI aircraft collection, but I love all sorts of different models. I'm currently cutting up the Gee Bee for assembly but eventually want to try printing off some the black and white models and have a go at airbrushing them. (haven't quite figured out how to go about that yet) I also still need to get sign up for web hosting of my pics so I can share them here but I'll get that done soon.